Do we really have a blog?

Yes, yes we do!!  We are neglecting our poor blog lately due to our crazy lives!!  I have a new job with a commute one hour-one way.  Any time I thought I had to blog and read is left on New Hampshire Ave.  I have not read a book in weeks, maybe months.  I feel like I need an intervention by my literary friends.  Lay in wait outside my office, jump me, throw me in a lounge chair, forcibly wrap one hand around a decaf coffee and duct tape a book in the other.  Maybe that is extreme… just a little… nah!

My head is swirling with ideas for posts. Yet find myself with little to no time to sit and compose.  Any suggestions?  Maybe I could do a James Joyce style and stream of consciousness.  Have Siri record my thoughts as I cruise through the open countryside,  later I can listen to my pearls of wisdom and then type them up at home.  MMMmm?  Possibilities.  Then again you may not want to know what is in my head at 6:00 am!

My dear darling hubby gave me a Kindle Fire HD and a keyboard. Yes, I am a spoiled queen.  He met someone who did all her blogging with it and he thought a portable blogger would fit my lifestyle!  He is the best!!  This is my first post using my spiffy new technology.  Listening to the Frozen soundtrack and little girls voices inside dance class is a good inspiration for writing.  (not tap shoes today!)

I am continuing my audio books during my commute and have heard some good ones and learned quite a bit.  Basketball, baseball, immigration issues, history and much more.  To keep my post brief, I will list the books a brief synopsis and my rating.

The Art of Procrastination by John Perry – A great book for the procrastinators out there, an esteemed club that I am a member.  I related to this one and helped my understand how I work or rather do not work and still succeed. (EMME)

League of Denial by Mark Fainaru-Wada and Steve Fainaru  – A great book to listen to not to read.  This is a loooooong book but fascinating.  The car trip broke it into manageable sections.  A history of the concussion research and the NFL that is very disturbing yet informative.  Based on this book, I have set clear ground rules for my son who is a football player.  A must read for any one that plays, knows someone who plays or is a parent of a child who plays a contact sport to include soccer.  (EMME!)

Becoming Mr. October by Reggie Jackson – This is an autobiography by Reggie Jackson and his rise in baseball.  I enjoyed the book to learn more about the inner workings of a baseball player.  After conversations with my parents about this time in baseball history, I think the memory or the ego of Mr. Jackson faded over time.  Fun listening to his ‘side of the story’.  (EMM)

Showtime by Jeff Pearlman – Great timeline and history of the famous Los Angeles Lakers during the Magic Johnson time.  WOW, is all I can say!  The drugs, sex and basketball.  (EMME)

Rob Delaney: Mother. Wife. Sister. Human. Warrior. Falcon. Yardstick. Turban. Cabbage. by Rob Delaney – Rob Delaney is a comedian who is a recovering alcoholic.  He tells an interesting tale of his life to date with many funny parts.  Yet, I wasn’t intrigued nor amused much. (EM)

The Master of the Mountain: Thomas Jefferson and his Slaves by Henry Wiencek – FANTASTIC history of the running of Monticello and the life of Thomas Jefferson.  Given the topic of this book there is potential to be offensive but Mr. Wiencek weaves a factual history that is well told.  The facts around the politics and economics of slavery and influences on President Jefferson are interwoven to help understand the issues of the day.  Well Done!! (EMME!)

Pure Joy: The dogs we love by Danielle Steel – A horrible book about Danielle Steel and her family’s dogs.  AVOID at all costs.  She is an avid dog lover yet the book is more of a glimpse of Ms. Steel’s rich and privileged life.  I couldn’t stomach it. (e)

Mennonite in a Little Black Dress by Rhonda Janzen – I enjoyed this book from many perspectives.  Ms. Janzen was raised as a Mennonite.  This book follows her life as she distances herself from her faith and circle back to the positives of the faith when she most needs it.  She has a great sense of humor and wonderful writing style.  I learned a lot about the Mennonites history and teachings, too.  (EMM)

In the queue is a biography of the first Hispanic supreme court justice, Nash of Crosby, Stills and Nash tells his story and who knows what more.  I also have found out about podcasts.  This could drastically slow down my audio book progress.  There are so many interesting people out there with so much to say.  My reviews of those will have to wait to any post.  For now…

Grab a book, ANY book and read (or listen!)

P.S.  I really dislike the main character in The American Tragedy, Clyde Griffiths.  Schmuck!  Post to come.

8 responses to “Do we really have a blog?

  1. So how are you liking the ability to be “portable” now? How is the blogging from it? I downloaded the WordPress app on my iPad and I had thought about using that on my iPad for my blog. You’ll have to let
    Me know how you like it! It seems a little limiting but maybe I am just used to the computer and the app is something I could get used too. 🙂

    Yes The Shack is good. It is sad but really good. I have a book that I bought a while back I have not really started much, it is called 14. It is a sci-fi thriller…as a girl who’s father was a sci-fi nut, and I liked it too…I figured I would give that a try! As for Stephen king, believe it or not, I have never read his books, I should get a real scary one and give it a try! 🙂

  2. have you guys read if i stay? i read it and it was just ok. one of my most favorite books of all time was The shack, assuming you guys read that one. currently i am keeping my eyes open for a scary book…looking for something to keep me on the edge of my seat. he he he

    • I’ll have to read The Shack – I’ve never read it, but everyone loves it. I will not be able to offer any suggestions for scary reads, though – I can barely watch Paranorman and other kid-friendly scare fests. 🙂

    • Hi! I haven’t read that one either. I will add to the list AFTER these!! As for scary, my college roommate was a huge Stephen King fan. Try his. The movies are terrifying I can’t imagine his books!

  3. I’ve missed your posts. This was a great one — so many books! You know… Swirling ideas in the head that refuse to let you alone are the true sign of a writer.

    • Petie!! Been thinking about you this week. Expect a phone call! I have area book ideas ruminating and I think between Heather and you I have some great editors!!!!

  4. Nice post!! The audio books are really working for you! I’m sure the Modern Library books are in audio form, too, LOL!! (I thought I should mention that as I crack the cover on the USA trilogy. 🙂 ) Keep on truckin’!!

    • Noooooo!!! Too far ahead. I am struggling with ol’ Clyde in The American Tradegy. Super G is reading Catcher in the Rye. The legacy continues!!! I think I am back on track being a blog buddy. Phew. Now to get to the infamous court room read.

Leave a Reply

