Yeah, We’ll Rate it!

I am going to delay I,Claudius yet again.  I don’t know what it is about the book that I can’t bring on the prose.  I just can’t seem to get the words down on paper.  I did like it.  I am hoping this snow storm ‘cocooning’ causes some inspiration.  Instead, let’s discuss some additions to our blog!

First, I hope you don’t mind but I will add a different type of review to the blog – audiobooks.  I have a 1 hour and 10 minute commute to my new job.  (Which I really enjoy, by the way)  To help pass the time, I download audiobooks from the library to my iPod.  Plug it into the stereo in my Mom mobile and off I go.  Did you know you could do that?  Modern technology is awesome!  So far I have listened to six books and only one was awful.  I thought I would share with you my opinion.  Stay tuned for those to come.

Next,  we are adding a rating section.  Unbeknownst to me, if we read a new book and write a review it doesn’t ‘count’ unless we give it a numerical rating.  I guess the publishers can’t read and need numbers to know if it is good.  Being a numbers person, I get that but… really? (a nod to The Culture Monk)

Let me introduce you to our new rating scheme.  Heather and I emailed and texted crazy ideas for imparting our graduating rating scale.  Of course, stars or numbers are too boooooring.  Anyone can do that.  We are embracing EMME!

Each rating will be given a letter, the more the letters, the more we liked it.  That simple!  For all the teachers out there, this is our rubric.

Drumroll please….

I LOVED IT!

I LOVED IT!

E– Eek, spider! Luckily, this is the perfect book for bug squashing and table propping.

M– Maybe I could’ve finished sooner, but every distraction was an excuse to close this tome.

M – Make this one a bedtime book. It’s a great read, but I can close it, turn off the light, and zzzz….

E – Eventually I’ll get something done, but I can’t put this book down!!

!! – Interjection, hallelujah, hallelujah.  We’re singing Schoolhouse Rock for this one – love it!

(If you aren’t familiar with Schoolhouse Rock see 2:49 in the video.  Will always bring a smile to our faces from our youth!)

To help translate if I gave – oh let’s say – Ulysses by James Joyce an “E”.  It would be an “Eek, spider! Luckily, this is the perfect book for bug squashing and table propping.” or 1 out of 5 letters/symbols.  Get it?

We are ready to let you know what we think!

Grab a book, any book and READ!!

3 responses to “Yeah, We’ll Rate it!

  1. Love your rating system! I was a little concerned when you used the word “rubric,” but I should have known yours would have flair and personality. And it is so much more diplomatic to find a use for a dreadful book than advising others to avoid it. Not that Andi is not diplomatic, but do I sense Heather’s influence?

  2. Stephanie Mccarty

    Only you guys could make review ratings funny!!

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

