Really? A Downer Next?

Film_410w_UnderVolcano

Under the Volcano, Film 1984 starring Albert Finney and Jacqueline Bissett

Under the Volcano by Malcolm Lowry

The next tome on the list… and what are we in store for this time?

An up lifter!  Oh boy!  The last day in the life of a man that drank himself to death.  Lovely.  Reminds me of “Leaving Las Vegas” with Nicholas Cage, the worst and most depressing movie I have ever seen.  Great.

This hits too close to home yet again.  I know too many people, friends and family, that struggle with the call of alcohol.  Not sure, mentally, I am up to this one.  But for the team, I will remain the ME of EMME and forge ahead.  If books track, I will learn something about myself or maybe my family or the world around me as I read.

I did start the book and so far we have a dead alcoholic, his friend who loves the alcoholic’s wife and alludes to an alcoholic’s childhood friend that gets into trouble.  If that isn’t foreshadowing I have no idea what is!!  Let’s see what transpires on this horrible day under the volcano.

Grab a book, any book and READ!

Leave a Reply

