A – The Period is Over-Rated

I have decided English teachers and majors should just accept that the period is outdated.  Seriously.  Heather and I have read the top six books of the 20th century and three, yes count them, three, trois, tres… 1, 2, 3 of the books do not use the period.  Run-on sentences GALORE!!  Stream of consciencness = babble.  So I ask, why do we even need the period?  Seems that the critics, editors and publishers set the precedent in the 1930’s.  The period is passe, my friends.

One response to “A – The Period is Over-Rated

  1. Love the cartoon! Every time we read a stream of consciousness piece of writing I just want to take out my red pen and start adding some punctuation!!

Leave a Reply

