A – Diversion to Fablehaven by Brandon Mull

I am reading one of my son’s series, Fablehaven, in between Heather and mine’s huge intellectual journey.  As I was reading, I came across a profound and insightful section. I felt I would share.

Closest I’ve ever come is deciding that the purpose of life must be to learn to make wise choices.  I believed that, and try to live by it.

In my opinion, good choices are not always safe choices.  many worthy choices involve risk.  Some require courage….

Making mistakes is part of learning to choose well.  No way around it.   Choices are thrust upon us, and we don’t always get things right.  Even postponing or avoiding a decision can become a choice that carries heavy consequences.  Mistakes can be painful – sometimes they cause irrevocable harm – but welcome to Earth.  poor choices are part of growing up and part of life.  you will make bad choices, and you will be affected by the poor choices of others.  We must rise above such things.

We all regret, wish we had, would, could, should… what wonderful advice for life from a children’s fiction book.  Leave the guilt aside, grab a book and read.  You learn something no matter the book.

Final thoughts on Brave New World to come….

Cheers,  Andi

Leave a Reply

