A – Joyce brilliant or a mad man?

Ok I am now on page 43 and the number of scene changes Joyce did is numerous.  I am an engineer and the amount of vocabulary in this book is mind boggling.  Do REAL people use these words?

Ineluctable modality of the visible: at least that if no more, thought through my eyes.  – p. 37 

What in the world does that mean?  Is it really a sentence?  My left brain is shut off and the right is down right upset I am using it.  Webster and I are on very close terms these days and not to forget my other love, Google.  Which brings me to the point of my post today – not really but I can jump around just like James Joyce if I want to (wait or should I say my stream of conscientious)- James Joyce, himself.  I was interested in what kind of man would write a bizarre book like this.   In comes my other new friend, Wikipedia. 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_Joyce

Boy was this man strange – I found out that Stephen is James Joyce – Is this an autobiography?  If so, I don’t think I really wanted to know what was in James’ head – right or left side of the brain!  What a very bizarre life he led.  Can’t wait to hear what Heather has to say, maybe this makes more sense to her!

Regardless I am here for the journey and, Hey!, I may learn a few new words along the way.  Back to reading!

One response to “A – Joyce brilliant or a mad man?

  1. Cool idea. I will be reading and following your blog.

Leave a Reply

